Another highly successful Awards event was held on 4th June at Linlithgow Bowling Club.  Again tribute was paid to all coaching staff, sponsors and the players for their tremendous efforts over the course of this troubled season.

Individuals recognised by the committee, team mates and visitors to the website as inspirational players within a chosen category were awarded with the following accolades: 

 Players’ Player of the Year


The Players’ Player of the Year is the award voted by fellow players.  It is the award that allows each player to recognise and honour that one particular player that has, to the foot soldiers on the field, provided the biggest difference to the team.  Some players gave reasons as to their vote others simply provided a name.  The main reason that this winner received an overwhelming majority of votes is simply due to the drive that this player gives to the boys with his on-field tenacity.  His commitment appears to have grown over the course of the season and this was recognised.  As well as firing up the team on the park, he also is a regular at training.  The Linlithgow Thistle Players Player of the Year is

Graeme Deans.

 Committee Player of the Year

The Committee Player of the Year is the next award.  This prize has been voted for by the Office Bearers and they have identified someone who inspires, motivates and mesmerizes with some delightful skill.  His gift of dribbling and taking on players, whilst being difficult to knock off the ball, can sometimes be magical to watch.  Although not being a regular to training, it was felt that the reasons behind this, plus his commitment to the club outweighed this.  He has stepped into the captain’s armband from time to time inWayne’s absence and stimulated his team mates.  Throw into the mix that he’s an absolute gentleman, the Linlithgow Thistle Committee Player of the Year is

Kevin Morrison.

 Website Player of the Year


With the ever growing popularity of our website, this award is voted for by site visitors who they believed stood out from the others.  The results made interesting viewing.  However, there was a clear winner.  This player has impressed us all with his dog-like attitude.  His performances have been consistent particularly in the second half of the season and his aerial presence is incredible.  Linlithgow Thistle’s Website Player of the Year is

Graeme Deans.

 Top Goal Scorer


As Top Goal Scorer, the winning player for this particular category needs little introduction.  Whether the goals were instinctive or precise, this player scored came from a lengthy suspension to deliver many crucial goals at the latter end of the season.  Most notably has been the brilliant partnership that has emerged from our late signing, Cammy McCredie, which I am sure will deliver an impressive total next season.  With a modest tally this season of 8 goals, compared to the stunning tally of 28 and 30 goals over the respective previous two seasons, could you please put your hands together for Linlithgow Thistle’s Top Goal Scorer – 

Graham Orr.